Governor Phil Murphy declared that New Jersey has entered a state of emergency, effective March 9, 2020. Executive Order No. 103 declares a state of emergency across all 21 counties in the State. New Jersey’s law against price gouging is now in effect. This law prohibits excessive price increases during a declared state of emergency, or for 30 days after the termination of the state of emergency.
Excessive price increases are defined as price increases that are more than 10 percent higher than the price at which merchandise was sold during the normal course of business prior to the state of emergency. See New Jersey's Consumer Fraud Act for more information.
The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs has set up a hotline for price gouging complaints related to coronavirus. Please call 973-504-6240 to report any price gouging concerns.
Updated: March 18, 2020
Source: Executive Order No. 103